ASU Symphony Orchestra – Graffiti! – with guest composers Carlos Simon and Garth Paine


Jeffery Meyer, music director and conductor

Sergio Freeman and Kara Piatt, conductors

In collaboration with the reboot of ASU’s Sol Power Hip Hop festival, the ASU Symphony premieres Carlos Simon’s Graffiti performed with art created in real time by internationally renowned graffiti artists. A new work by ASU composer Garth Paine begins the concert and includes sounds amplified by the audience’s own cell phones as part of the orchestral landscape. The second half of the concert begins with pianist John Solari, Winner of the 2020 ASU Concerto Competition, performing Ravel’s American jazz club inspired Piano Concerto for the Left Hand and concludes with Arturo Márquez’s exuberant Danzón No. 2.

Garth Paine: FraKture (2021) (World Premiere)

Ravel: Piano Concerto for the Left Hand

     John Solari, piano 

Carlos Simon: Graffiti (2021) (World Premiere)         

Arturo Márquez: Danzón No. 2 (1994)