ASU Symphony Orchestra – with guest composer Nkeiru Okoye and Nathan De’Shon Myers, baritone


Baritone Nathan De'Shon Myers joins the ASU Symphony Orchestra performing Nkeiru Okoye’s tragic and thought-provoking Invitation to a Die-In, a work that responds to the murders of Black men, starkly telling the story from the perspective of the deceased, their families, police officers, and citizens on all sides of the issue. The work is preceded by Valerie Coleman’s newly-written Fanfare for Uncommon Times and Molly Joyce’s haunting Over and Under for organ and orchestra. The concert concludes with 2021 ASU Concerto Competition winner Vladislav Kosminov performing Prokofiev’s dazzling Piano Concerto No. 3. 

 Valerie Coleman: Fanfare for Uncommon Times (2021)

Molly Joyce: Over and Under (2016) 

Nkeiru Okoye: Invitation to a Die-In (2017) 

Nathan De'Shon Myers, Baritone

Prokofiev: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3

Vladislav Kosminov, piano 


Image Gallery